This is an interesting map because it can be nicely dated by the Western Heights area.
The Western Outworks is missing. These were started in 1858.
The caponniers are missing from the Drop Redoubt. These were started in 1859
The section of lines between the Redoubt and the North Centre Detached Bastion are unfinished.
What is peculiar is that the map shows the 'new' officers' mess at Dover Castle. This was built 1858.
Perhaps the date is 1858/59 and the Western Outworks and Drop Redoubt alterations etc were under construction ?
Answers on a postcard !
Close this window to continue